Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!

I am really getting interested in buying a motorcycle for this summer and need some advice. Here are my stats:

Riding Level: Absolute Beginner
Male, 190 lbs, 6 foot 5 inches, 18 years old.
Will be riding without passengers

I want a good beginners bike that is safe to ride, will teach good technique, yet is powerful & stable enough to take on highway rides (I plan to go on the highway a lot). I should also mention that I live in a mountainous area and it must be able to pull the hills.

Here are the bikes I am looking at:

Kawasaki Ninja 250R
Kawasaki Ninja 650R
Honda CBR 250R

Which of these bikes is the best combo for me? At my height would I be uncomfortable on a 250R?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

·
Premium Member
4,247 Posts
Firstly, Welcome to the site!! Good luck with your decision, and don't jump before you consider everything!
Personally, since I now ride a 650R, I am extremely glad that I started on the 250R. There is mountains of difference in the performance and for an absolute beginner like yourself, I would have no hesitation in recommending the 250R to start on regardless of your size.
Ok, for the record you are about 1 foot taller than me, but only about 10 kilos heavier, so the 250R will have no issues lugging your ass up a hill or mountain!!
Physical size may be an issue, but there are products available to help lengthen your riding position.
Best advice would be to take a test ride on both 250's and see which one is best suited. Grab a 2nd hand model, there are plenty around and that way you will not be devastated when you drop it(Don't kid yourself, it will happen!) and learn your techniques properly. Take a riding safety course and talk to other riders, but don't let them talk you into getting something bigger cause that will just get you hurt or dead quicker.
Ensure you have good gear, do not skimp on this at all!