Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's up guys. I'm totally new to bikes, gonna take riding course soon. I saw lots of discussions about how rookies should start with used 250 or 300. So would you pls tell me how you bought your used bikes. Craigslist eBay local dealers? I'm in LA. Thx guys!!!

Also, like most of the new riders, I'm debating on getting a 300 or 6r... I'm 5.7 ft, 160 lb. I know it depends, but anyone who had the same struggle and made decision?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What part of Louisiana are you in? Also what are you wanting to do with the bike? How old are you? Have you ever ridden anything with a hand clutch?
I'm in Los Angeles, CA. Sorry for the misleading. I'm 27 turning 28 this year. I just wanna have fun riding down the streets. I don't think I will go on tracks, since I have no experience at all. No, only scooters. I like the sound of exhausts though, not that I would like to annoy people with that, I just like the sound and the acceleration from 1 - 60. I now drive a performance car and it requires almost nothing for driver to go fast. I know it's totally not the same thing as riding a bike, otherwise I would definitely go for 6r or 10r I guess.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I'm also from LA and also 27.... I bought my 2002 zx6r from Craigslist a year ago .... I just went ahead and bought a 600cc ..... I was told to start with a 250.... People told me That I would kill myself if I started with a 600cc... But i was fine... I always respected the bike..... Now I want a newer one!...
I also took the MSF course before I bought my motorcycle .... Very important!....maybe it's was a little risky to start with a 600cc idk?.... Depends on
How you feel , if a 600cc is too intimidating For you to tart with.... Just telling you my experience
Just be cautious when buying from Craigslist ....
A lot of sketchy people.....

·
1,458 Posts