Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im new to street riding got my first road bike yesterday from ultimate cycles in richmond va (2009 500r) only had 319 miles on the bike i rode it home to charlottesville and had a blast! The bike was comfortable and had a suprising amount of power for its size. However when i got home i stoped the bike showed it to my father etc then took off down the road for a short ride into town and the engine lost power while riding?!?! I could get it choked on and warm and it would only run for about two mins then stall out again. Im thinking that i might have just left the choke on a little to long and flooded the bike? Has anyone else had this problem? Also are there any virginia riders on here?

·
Registered
207 Posts
Sup fool! Lol just kidding Welcome to NN! I from Maryland (northeast). There are a few riders from VA but it's probably too damn hot to reply right now in this heatwave.
As far as your bike I'm a little familiar with VA bit not where Charlotte is. Is it in the mountains? If so then a bike that's been at sea level that goes to a higher elevation might require tweaking of the carburetor. Thinner air in the mountains probably is running the bike rich and could cause the problem. I'm sure there will be others that will chime in on this. Good luck and don't be afraid to ask. Everyone on here is great and helpful.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick response bullet! Charlottesville is in central virginia very close to the appalation mnts but the elevation here is similar if not the same as it is the hour trip to richmond where i bought the bike im going in a little bit to see if i had just flooded the carb. Im hoping thats what happend. And it is hella hot but im lovin riding in it! Feels good to me i think its 102 can the heat mess with the way the bike runs?

·
Registered
1,480 Posts