Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So last weekend I put some fuel stabilizer in my tank I had this idea the tank was full, but it was actually only about half. So I put in the correct amount of stabilizer for a full tank, into a half tank. Ran it for a few minutes, and then oddly coming off the choke the idle wanted to stay high, the range of 3000. I thought strange, so I hopped on and drove it to the gas station to correct the fuel mix issue. Seems that this all made no difference.
On my drive home I also managed to have the transmission pop out of sixth gear (shifter up) into a non-gear/pseudo neutral. Slowing down to a stop (engine screaming at about 3500rpm) I just pushed it back down to first with a crunch, then drove on.
has any of this strange shit happened to anyone before? I'm new to bikes.

2010 Ninja 250, Yoshi exhaust.

· Registered
1,480 Posts
Did you attempt to turn the idle speed down after you slowed down to a stop? Sounds like either your choke is tuck or your engine idle speed was incorrect to begin with.

Other than your exhaust, what other mods have you done to the intake?

· Registered
674 Posts
Some odd stuff there, but I don't think it's related to the Stabil.

If you think it's safe to ride, I'd ride some more and see how it runs after a while. I would expect too much Stabil to give you a lower idle - not a high one. You could drain the floatbowls before going out if you though there was extra Stabil sitting in there.

There's something else going on. As Blue noted - check the choke and possibly make some adjustments.

Definitely solve the high idle problem, as dropping it into 1st gear at 3500 RPMs while stopped is too hard on the trans.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·