Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I put the bike away for the season today. It is an 09 250R with no mods - bone stock - and 4700 kms on it. I did everything just fine but a few things I can't understand (I'm not a mechanic but I try to do all simple work myself). Questions:

1. Did I put too much fogging oil in cylinders? A few minutes after I finished spraying, the oil leaked out of the exhaust header manifold or out of two bored holes underneath the exhaust header manifold. Anything to worry about?

2. What are those two bored holes underneath the exhaust header manifold for?

3. Two friends (mechanics) said that with the spark plugs out, I had to manually crank the engine to spread the fogging oil. They said I just had to put it in gear and turn the back wheel with the bike on a lift. The wheel WOULD NOT TURN even though the plugs were out. They could not believe this. Anyone know why?

??? ???

·
Registered
5,695 Posts
1.) There is no such thing as too much oil... Your bike will just be belching more smoke in the spring time. And next year you'll know to use less... :p

2.) Pics? I think they are drains going to the spark plug holes, um how do I describe this. Your spark plugs go down deep into the heads right? And those holes/tubes they fit down might get water in, and those holes are there to drain them so they don't corrode and cause further damage. I've never looked carefully enough on my bike to see them, but I'll look next time...

3.) I agree with the mechanics. Very weird that the wheel would not turn. These seem silly, but I must ask. The rear wheel was off the ground, right? Like you were using a rear stand. The wheel would turn with the bike in neutral? If not, check your rear brake.