Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone shed light on comparing an HJC IS or FS to let's say a Bell Vortex or Scorpion Exo?

What I am trying to learn is can a 175-250 helmet (like HJC) be as safe as a more expensive helmet that fits the range of 250-350?

What are the pros and cons? Is it safe to start with an HJC as my first ever helmet?

:Sent via the NewNinja iPhone App:

·
Registered
726 Posts
All DOT-approved helmets are not created equal, for sure. But they all have to pass the same minimum standards, to be certified. The only differences you'll likely to notice is the quality of the visor system and headliner, and the weight of the helmet.

You probably won't go wrong, choosing the IS-Max as your first helmet (I have been using one for 2 years and like it a lot), but if I was taking a cross-country trip, I'd probably look for something lighter and quieter.

·
Registered
260 Posts
I cannot compare any of those helmets to one another, but I can talk about the Bell helmets extensively. I own both a Vortex and a Star. Both are great helmets. Both vent a ton of air, both have the photochromatic shield available for them, both have quick release shields, both have removable/washable liners. Cheek pads are easily replaced to hone in the fit, just great overall helmets. The biggest difference between the two, other than the price point, is the weight, and noise level.

The Vortex, while not a heavy helmet, is a good half pound heavier than the Star. The Vortex also has a neck roll that seals around your neck, eliminating a lot of wind noise. The Star does not have this, and thus is very loud. After riding in both extensively, I can honestly say that the Star is less of a street helmet, and more of a track helmet. If I could do it over again, I'd probably get a RS-1 in place of the Star because of the noise levels. Instead I've just adjusted to wearing ear plugs.