Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks,

I thought I'd post this in here in case any of you north of the border are contemplating moving up to the new 400R. Hopefully Kawasaki will offer this to our American friends in the future if the bike is a sales success here in Canada.

I've had the bike for almost 2 weeks now, and have put on 330kms mostly commuting to work and running errands around town.

I'll continue to post here as I get more time on the bike, and if I encounter any problems of issues with it.

2011 NINJA 400R REVIEW

Ok, before I start with the review, let me give a little background on my 2 wheeled experience. I've been riding for the last 26 years on everything from a Honda Elite 125 to a CBR 600F3 and F4, a CBR 125, and a BMW G650 XCountry. I'm not a motorcycle expert, just an enthusiast. The majority of my riding in the last few years has been commuting to work, which is 18km round trip on mostly 100kph highway. I also do some riding with my friends, who are cruiser and adventurer touring riders, no sportbike guys here. I'm also 6ft and 190lbs.

SPECIFICATIONS

MODEL Kawasaki Ninja 400R

PRICE $6999.00 CDN

ENGINE Liquid-cooled four-valve parallel-twin

HORSEPOWER (CLAIMED) 44 @ 9,500 rpm

TORQUE (CLAIMED) 27 lb-ft at 7,500 rpm

DISPLACEMENT 399 cc

BORE AND STROKE 68.4 x 54.3 mm

COMPRESSION RATIO 11:1

FUEL DELIVERY Fuel-injection

TRANSMISSION Six-speed

SUSPENSION Telescopic 41 mm fork; single shock adjustable for preload

WHEELBASE 1,410 mm (55.5 in.)

RAKE/TRAIL 25 degrees/106 mm

BRAKES Twin front 300 mm discs with twin-piston calipers; rear 220 mm disc with single-piston caliper

TIRES 120/70-17 front; 160/60-17 rear

WEIGHT (CLAIMED) 203 kg (448 lb)

SEAT HEIGHT 790 mm (31.1 in.)

FUEL CAPACITY 15.5 L