Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had my first day of actual riding today. My lessons are fantastic and i'm still learning on the clutch, but its gotten easier then my first few tries. I was chatting with a guy there and he was saying i should go for the 400R ninja, rather then the 250R

I weigh roughly 220, I'm about 5'10-5'11 So im shortish and big-er. Anyway, would i have any issues on the 250? Would i be able to accelerate at a decent speed to say avoid a rear end incident, if my reaction time never varied between the two?

I like the ninja 250. It's smaller, it's not as dangerous, and it still gets the job done. Which is what i want. But will it have issues doing the job if i'm this heavy?

Thanks in advance.

Ninjeff

·
Premium Member
4,247 Posts
I think the best answer for this question is an actual test ride.
Some things to take into consideration:
Weight: 250R - 375lbs, 400R - 448lbs, There is a very noticable difference, trust me I know from experience!
Power: 250R - 33hp, 400R - 44hp, considering the 650R has 73hp which is identicle to the 400R in everyway except for a sleeved engine, I don't think there will be a huge amount of difference in performance thanks to the extra weight that the 400R carries.
Price: 250R - $4,999, 400R - $6,999, is $2000 extra worth only 11hp and 73lbs?
Handling: The 250R is much nimbler and easy to ride, thanks to the extra weight advantage over the 400(650).
I am shorter than you(5'6") and I can touch the ground with my toes on both sides, but there is a slight difference in seat height as well as over all size.

Personally, as I mentioned take both bikes for a ride if you can, then make the decision on what your butt tells you!
Good luck with it!

·
Registered
1,437 Posts