Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, last Friday i bought a brand new 2012 Ninja 250. I passed my MSA course and have been driving happily for the past few days. I'm on the "break-in" stage right now, but it's literally impossible to keep the RPM under 4,000. So right now i just ride it easy. I dont rev super high and don't push my limits, often. :p I've pushed it a few times just to test it, but nothing major. Top speed i've gone is 100km/h and it was just for a short burst. Anyway, I'm really trying to make this bike last as long as possible. Will my keeping the revs in a 4-6k range affect my break in significantly?

Also, riding long distances. After i put on say 2,000 kilometers will riding a for say 2-3 hours at a constant high speed of 100-120 be bad for my motor? (again i'm canadian so my speed is in kilometers.) I don't want to damage my machine, and i'm new to any type of vehicle (this bike is my first vehicle).

Right now i'm just trying to put on 1k on my odometer for the first service check, I feel like once i achieve that i can ride a bit more aggressively. I consider myself a safe driver, but i'd like to push my bike a bit more. I know it can, it's just i dont wanna damage it.

Any tips or advice?

·
Premium Member
4,247 Posts
There is so many different opinions on how to break in a bike, and while I have broken in two bikes, I did not pay any attention into how many revs I was putting on, I just rode it as I would normally, and as long as I was not over doing things, everything so far has gone well.
Don't take my word for it, do some research and make up your own mind.
Good luck with it

·
Registered
674 Posts