Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well here it goes.... I am an ME student at Clemson, and I've always been in love with two stroke power. I recently picked up a 2009 ninja 250 with 14k miles for $1600, not wrecked, and I plan on dropping a CR 500 motor in this. Looking at the frame, I think it can be done with proper planning. I picked up A 1986 CR 500 engine today that is in good shape and will start this project this coming semester after my fabrication skills have improved enough to undertake this project, and I have some cad work done on the cradle. The pipe will have to be custom made and wrapped directly forward and down to clear fairings and fit in general. No, I am not going to risk butchering the frame and not being able to ride it again, so I will be on the lookout for a salvage title frame to do all the Fab work on.. I think the most challenging thing to work on is running the electrics of the stock ninja separate from the CR ignition system and handling vibration, but I think it can be done. This won't be a highway bike, and I think I will be able to gear it for about 100 mph (I can't think of a good reason why I'd be going any fastert any where around here). Mostly this will be a pure acceleration and wheelie machine for back roads and such.. ;D I will start posting pics and progress reports when this gets underway.... Cheers

·
Premium Member
4,247 Posts
Well all I can say is goodluck! I'm not sure what you want to change the gearing for since the lil 250R can already reach 100mph!
Make sure you take plenty of pics, this will be one to watch!

·
Registered
5,695 Posts
This is gonna be sweet! Can't wait to follow along, and with a CR500, you should be able to go quite a bit over 100mph.... Even while still being able to do wheelies - a tuned pipe CR500 can have a wicked power kick. All the best, this is gonna rock!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·