Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Plant Automotive tire Asphalt Road surface Grass

I'm new to bikes. but ive gotten my hands on a free 08 ninja ex250 j. it has no key and has been sitting for about a year and a half. i just purchased a new battery, oil, oil filter, spark plugs, chain cleaner and lube,new tires and coolant. the locksmith will be here early next week to make my new key. ( trust me i already looked into the dealer and there is no key code on file in the system). and then ill preform all the TLC before turning it over. any recommendation during this process would be great...after getting it started i want to lift the bike back up to stock height cause I'm tall and it being lowered is awkward feeling to sit on. after that I'm working on the fairings. the left front is cracked but i have some auto body experience and i think i can salvage it..ill try to keep an update on the bike and i hope to get it rolling before spring.

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Welcome aboard ... First and foremost this is an awesome forum. It can be a tad quiet but do not jump to judgement too quickly. It's worth the stay!

What a wonderful bike to have to revive. Don't quit on it. Keep us apprise of all your progress and use that search function ... It will more quickly find you answers!

Stay active!

09 ST3R

·
Premium Member
4,253 Posts
Welcome to the site Maz, there's heaps of info here for you.
I'll send the workshop manual to you when I get home tonight unless someone else gets in first.
One thing I would recommend is stripping the carbies and giving them a birthday.
Check out the rest of the fuel lines, and also the brake lines to ensure they have not perished being left out in the elements.
Good luck with the rebuild!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·