Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new here (obviously) and wanted to introduce myself. I have been drooling all over the 2nd gen ninja 250r for many months now. I want a dependable, good MPG, fun, good-looking, and good for beginnner bike. The ninja 250r seems like the perfect bike to fill this criteria. When I started looking for a bike I was looking at the Honda Rebel and Star 250. I didn't like the fact that they really didn't go fast enough to take on the interstate. I am originally from the Tallahassee area and its about a 2 1/2-3 hour commute. It didn't take long to find out about the Ninja though. I have yet to find any real contructive downsides to these bikes (other than the inherent limitations of 250 cc engine performance). I am having a very hard time deciding whether I should buy a low-milage used bike Vs. new with warranty (and known future maintenance and break-in). I have read many people say that it's not if you drop your bike, but when. I am not dumb enough to think that this can't happen to me. I can't help but lean towards the brand new bike though. I was wondering if these "sliders" offer good protection in the scenario a drop does occur? What other precautions/protecters are there? If anyone has any advice/comments on anything that I have mentioned, I would love to hear it. Thanks

·
Premium Member
6,846 Posts
Welcome!

First off, you're bang on with it being the right bike in my opinion, ticks all those boxes.

Used vs New, comes down to budget, you could get a used dealer bike, with low mileage, with some warranty left. Might fit you perfectly.

Frame sliders help in some situations, but some people consider them more dangerous. Every crash is different, but if you did a slow speed or standing drop (service station) then they would be great. You can also get some swingarm sliders which try and do the same thing as the frame sliders for your swingarm.