Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been telling myself for about 3 years (maybe longer), "As soon as you pay off your credit card, you can buy a motorcycle." Nothing fancy, nothing too big or spendy. Well, I paid off my credit card this week so I'm definitely shopping. I'm gonna go look at a 250 this weekend and have decided the 250 is probably the perfect bike for my first. I have motorbiked through Vietnam but none of them were ever clutch bikes, just basically glorified scooters.

I'm looking to spend roughly $2k and start out slow with basic commuting between work and home (5-10 minute ride through main arterials). Maybe quick jaunts on the highway to go to the mall. Basic errands. Eventually, I'd like to ride the 101 Pacific Highway (leisurely) with a tent on the back of the bike. DH isn't interested but likes that I have a hobby.

I'm leaning toward a Scorpion helmet, registering for a MSC end of May and renting a UHaul trailer to bring my bike home behind my Subaru. Potential seller and I are gonna take the bike to a shop and have them give it the once over for any major plot thickeners. I've done some work on my car and am very interested in the idea of working on my bike, at least for basic things like oil, sparkplugs and whatnot. Not signing up for someone else's money pit.

I definitely recognize the need to buy used; I never buy anything new and I am sure I will be dropping the bike in the driveway. :whistling:

I have a few other friends who are in the process of learning to ride so I hope I have some buddies (albeit in Seattle) to learn the ropes with. Maybe in a few seasons, I'll upgrade to a 500 but I think I'm really sold on the "learning" aspect of the 250.

· Registered
60 Posts