Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it recommended to change the exhaust on a 250?

i was lookin around for info on what happens when you change the exhaust and such (since i'm a noob of course), and i'm wondering if the power difference i'd get would actually be notable... and is an exhaust change easy enough for any bonehead to do?

googled some stuff and this came up
http://www.kawiforums.com/attachmen...a-250r-tyga-exhaust-dyno-results-vs-stock.jpg

looked like quite a boost in power if i'm not mistaken

oh ya.. and would this hurt my gas mileage?.. gas mileage is more important to me at this point than power

· Registered
64 Posts
If you do a full exhaust you'll get a noticeable in crease, however it will lower your mileage . In a 250 it's a waist of money. Also with a full you'll need a power commander or something of the like to remap and control air and fuel. If your looking to change the tone or make it louder then just get a slip on and you in most cases not have to get any type of aftermarket control unit.

· Registered
1,480 Posts
....Is it recommended to change the exhaust on a 250?
It all depends on what your riding goals are. If you race and you spend the majority of your time in 4th and 5th gear and high rpms, then a full exhaust and the extra HP is what you need.

If you just street ride and you like to cruise at lower rpms, save on gas and don't like obnoxiously loud noise, then a full exhaust is not what you need.

Anytime you make changes to the intake or exhaust, you can expect a small-med change in MPG. Also riding at WOT /high rpms, the MPG is reduced even more.