Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My bike shifts fine, all bugs are worked out from break in (I'm coming up on 5K miles) and no more false neutrals. One day I was messing around in my driveway. I slowly let the clutch out until it was completly disengaged but did not stall the bike (no throttle at all). I did this very very slowly. The bike will stall if I just dump the clutch with no throttle. My idle is right under 2K rpms. Is my clutch bad? I no I'm not a bad driver haha I've been riding quads (w/ clutches) since I was 9 years old. Maybe it prematurally wore out from wheelies? Who knows?

·
Registered
71 Posts
i took the dmv riding test and did the cone weave at idle speed. lol i just slowly let the clutch out from a stop and let the bike role at like 2-3mph it made it so easy. so i'm sure your bike is fine. on another note... do you do sit down wheelies or stand up wheelies? I've been able to pop my front end up and ride it for like 20-40 ft while doing a sit down wheelie. i think i just run out of rpms. i'm to scared right now to try and do stand ups.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
alright thanks everyone for your help. I wasn't worrying over it too much but I thought I would just like to know.

·
Registered
267 Posts
totally normal...don't worry about it. you can do this with any vehicle that has a clutch as long as you're on a level surface and you let the clutch out slow enough. I wouldn't recommend doing this too often though as letting the clutch out slowly without giving it throttle can only move the bike without stalling by slowly slipping the clutch. it is during this slipping process that clutch wear happens. like I said no worries, but I wouldn't do it excessively.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·