Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you clicked this post because you thought you'd see accident pictures or something, I apologize for the misleading topic name.

The point of this post was to discuss some differences between driving a car and riding a motorcycle. I have had a LOT of driving experience in my time (4 years of newspaper delivery, I've seen everything) But I have had ZERO experience riding a motorcycle. Not even as a passenger, I have never ever even been on a bike. But I have purchased all of my gear already and am now saving up for the course and my bike.

That said, there are things I've noticed while driving that would probably be serious safety concerns on a bike.

1) Cars have FOUR wheels, not TWO. This seems pretty obvious, but if you really think about it you'll start to understand the significance. I can't tell you how many times I've gotten cocky or confident and misjudged my own speed into a dark or blind corner only to have my car yell at me "ESC activated" (Electronic Stabilitek traction Control I think it stands for) Anyway, the car senses traction loss in any particular wheel and transfers power away from that wheel to the other wheels until you regain control of the vehicle. Something you definitely don't get on a bike. Also, burning out at a traffic light when I'm not paying attention is really easy to do in my Cobalt '08 Sport. "Traction Loss" and the sound of my fronts burning are common place to me.