Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a noob here and also to all this motorcycle exhaust stuff so please be gentle.

I was planning on getting a slip-on for my 09 ninja 250, but noticed that a lot of the manufacturers "highly recommend" that you re-jet after installing their cans, which I have no idea how to do. I also read Redrider's step-by-step on the needle shimming, which I am embarrassed to say seems like too tall an order for something like me to do. :'( (Not that I'm retarded)

So my question is; do any of you guys know of manufacturers who make slip-ons geared to the stock fuel specs that wouldn't require any other modification? Or would those products not even be worth my purchase?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
274 Posts
yeah, I can relate. I'm learning all this too but my problem is that I bought used 08 Ninja 250 that already had an AWESOME Two Brothers exhaust on it, but i know nothing about the previous owners and very little about the bike's history. So it is in the back of my mind wondering if they did what they needed to do (jetting and whatnot) when they installed this slip on.

How will I ever know? Can my mechanic tell if this was done? What if it was not?

so many questions. Crappy weather this week is making me stir crazy. Want to get on my bike and ride !!!

·
Registered
124 Posts
yeah I installed. Its the coolest exhaust system Ive seen on the net. You can actually open and close the can for top and bottom end. And for the guy who bought the used 250 I dont know what to tell you about your question?

·
Registered
267 Posts
BTW shady lane is no guy, haha.

not sure what to tell you about that shady. does your bike backfire often because that could be a sign that it is running too lean as a result of the slip-on being installed without any fuel modification.

·
Registered
277 Posts