Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Everyone! Just joining up here.

After being out of motorcycling several years I got back into it a couple years ago. I used to be a motorcycle safety instructor - really learned how to master a bike. But the only bikes I ever owned were a 450 Nighthawk and a 1200 Goldwing. Nice, but boring.

So when I decided to get back into it I knew I wanted a kick-ass sportbike. I was on Kijiji heavy and one day, voila! I saw the bike I just knew I had to have.

It really stood out - an orange ZX-9R, but not the Kawasaki orange. The seller told me the truth right up front - he bought it as an insurance write-off and rebuilt it. It was basically just cracked up fairings and broken little things like pedals and levers. He did a great job fixing it up. Decided to paint over the Kawi green with a nice orange (Audi or Ford, I think).

It easily passed the mandatory mechanical inspection required after being registered as a write-off and I got all the registration done with no problem.

This bike really stands out. I often get people asking me about it and complimenting the colour. I'm phasing out some of the odd colours to bring everything except the fairings to be either gloss black or the natural brushed metal silver of the frame. Brake levers - replaced with black ones. That kind of stuff.

First thing I did was change the ugly, faded, scratched windscreen with a 'sport touring' version from Zero Gravity. Then it was time for a good maintenance: new chain (factory 1-piece/endless), sprockets, brake pads, etc. I use OEM parts always unless there's something BETTER aftermarket (ie: brake pads & levers).