Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner

Bike stalling/dying

11K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  rhodes50 
#1 ·
Hey everyone! Having some problems recently and hoping people had some help/ideas/suggestions. I have a 2009 Ninja 250 and recently have been having trouble with the bike stalling and dying EVERY SINGLE time I come to a stop.

Now I admit, I am new to riding, but I had been riding the bike for almost 6 weeks. Both in town and highway. Plenty of stop and go's. At first I occasionally killed it at a stop, but it fired right back up and went the next time. And that even quit happening after a couple of rides.

But now all of a sudden when I come to a stop and try to take back off, it dies on me. And I'll restart and it happens again. Maybe 2-3 times and then the bike won't even start back up. I've had to push it home a couple of times now....luckily I haven't been far from home each time! :D I let it warm up fully - I take off perfectly fine and it runs smooth...until the first stop. I put it in 1st every time at the stop. Maybe the idle is too low??

Does anyone know what might be the problem. I've tried researching online and here but it seems like I get a MIILION different ideas or topics. Anything from fuel pump, air filter, carbs, maybe even plugs. No concensus from what I can find anyway. I'm not mechanically inclined at all, but willing to try my best. Right now I wouldn't be able to get it to a shop anyway as it keeps dying.

Just seems weird it's happening now is all, and not before, so I do not THINK it's "rider error", but could be wrong I guess.

ANY help and suggestions is GREATLY APPRECIATED from everyone as I am at a complete loss and very frustrated! THANK YOU!!

See less See more
#3 ·