Startup trouble - Kawasaki Ninja Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 02-22-2012, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice Ninja

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Startup trouble

I've been having some trouble lately with my bike. Besides the cold it still doesn't seem to be starting up/running right. I ride a Ninja Ex500. It sat from about September - December. I was away so had my brother start it up once and a while and let it run and a friend took it out for a ride once or twice.

Since I started riding it again in January it just hasn't seemed the same (though it's my first time riding winter, so that may be a big part of it)

I'm relatively new when it comes to working on them, so it may be some simple fixes I just don't know.

To start it idles at about 500 now and sounds like it's struggling to run. The left exhaust also puts out a good amount of white exhaust sometimes. Not sure if this is cold related or running rich?

I've put 2k miles on it in the past 10 months. I haven't changed the air filter and I don't know how old the spark plugs are (bought it used) so I'll be replacing both of those in the coming week. That's about the extent of my knowledge, I've read on adjusting the idle speed as well as regulating the carbs, but wanted to get some advice first

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-22-2012, 06:19 PM
Ninja Racer

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

To start from the top -

Does it have (old) summer fuel in it? Did you add stabilizer to the fuel? If not, that could be it right there.

Did you fill the tank to the top while sitting? If not, condensation could have formed in the tank.

Does the gas have Ethanol in it? If so, it makes problems worse. Run Ethanol-free gas whenever possible.

If the gas is questionable, drain the tank and fill with Ethanol-free gas (if poss) and 1oz per gal of a good Fuel System Cleaner like Techron Concentrate or Seafoam.

Give it some time like that before tearing into stuff (other than maintenance).