Kawasaki Ninja Forum banner

Oil Question! Time sensitive

6K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  computerguy400R 
#1 · (Edited)
No ladies and gents, this is not "what do I do with my old oil?" or anything like that. I do know how to use the search tab up top and google!

I actually happen to be lucky enough to run into some Royal Purple 5W30 oil, my engineering senior design project was redesigning the crankshaft rotation path in the standard combustion engine. Now that the project is reaching an end, I was offered some of the oil as we received it for free. Being a broke college student, I will accept anything for free so I was like "hellz yeah!!" (mods, if that word is unacceptable, I will gladly take it out, I was just really excited) :dance:

Anywho.. My first question was can this go in my bike?! I did some research but it seems everyone uses 10Wxx. I know the first weight represents the viscosity when cold and I'm curious as to whether or not a lighter viscosity at colder temps would be a bad thing. My thoughts are that it would only help, but I'm an electrical engineer, so it's not something I'm confident about.

Does anyone have any experience or know whether or not 5W30 oil would be beneficial in any way to a 09 Ninja 250R? If not, would anyone be interested if I opted to try and report back the general feel? I don't have the access, time or money to for dyno testing but I can at least report how the bike feels!

Thanks for any help or advice and ride safe!:thumb:
-Chris

Edit: I should say that I have not been given the oil yet, I have until noon tomorrow to grab some. That's why it is time sensitive! sorry about that!